a new way to dress your self

getting back to work

 

So it’s summer, and I just finished my undergraduate degree (save for the student teaching I’ll be doing in a couple of weeks), and while it may seem like I’ve got it pretty easy, I’m actually staying very busy with work. There are so many people who graduate with art degrees and just stop making art. They’re burnt out, or need a break, or have to find a ‘real’ job. There are lots of reasons not to continue down the path of being an artist…but that’s not what I want to do.  I feel a momentum, like I’ve just started to hit my stride, and I’m going to use that energy to keep going. Now that I’m out of school, I’m taking this time to really push myself to keep creating, without any of the limitations of the educational system, or their semester timelines. This past fall I used my final sculpture class as a means to build my studio at my house. I’ve built my exposure unit for burning screens, my sewing table with some pretty classy sewing machines–thanks to Dad for being that meticulous mechanical engineer and loving a project, a printing table with cushion and canvas top, and with the help of my mom I’m starting to efficiently use my space to make my creations!

 

I’ve got my first deadline for a photoshoot coming up August 18, and six models to work with me! I’m so excited about this opportunity, not only to work with Paola Nazati  , but to start to document my art so that others can begin to understand my vision for dressing the Self in a new way. Paola is such a sweet person and super talented in many aspects, so I was flattered when she offered to photograph my dresses. And my models are all beautiful friends who I’m so excited to share the day with, and appreciate so much for working with me!

 

So today I’m off to begin a new vat of indigo for dyeing, going to try to finish my vintage liberty of london (pictured below) print dress, and hopefully burn my screen for the labels I want to sew into my clothing. It’s a tall order, but I’ve only got time 🙂

 

The next time you see this fabric, it should be as a dress:

2 comments on “getting back to work

  1. Eliz
    July 30, 2012

    What a wonderful read on a Monday morning. I can’t wait to see and hear more about the photoshoot and your progress–that liberty fabric is phenomenal, as well!

  2. leanna
    September 4, 2012

    Awesome post, Molly! You’re doing such great work…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 30, 2012 by in organization, Transition.
Frivolous at Last

"A life of pleasure makes even the strongest mind frivolous at last." -- Edward Bulwer-Lytton

CSmith's Artwork

painting with strokes of life.

David Lebovitz

Paris based chef baking and writing cookbooks

One Willow Apothecaries

a gathering place for earth-nourished healing, handcrafted medicine and alchemical gateways of education

