a new way to dress your self

Bringing textiles into the classroom

Working in the art classroom in elementary school everyday, I’m racking my brains and doing lots of web searches to find really fun and different art activities to do with kids. Ideally I could incorporate my own love of fabric and textile design into the classroom. I’ve  already made a few lessons on how to do this, but always looking for more stuff!

This week the registration is open for the NCAEA (North Carolina Arts Education Association), a really awesome arts education conference that just so happens to be in Asheville this year! I”ve already starting making a list of the workshops I want to take and know that ‘Enduring Understanding: Global Textile Practices’ is at the top. The woman who runs it describes bringing dyeing, printing, and batiking methods to the classroom, which I think is so exciting!

So I just thought that today I’d open up and ask you: what kinds of textile methods or really any kind of art projects have you seen/done lately that were awesome? There’s such a wonderful community of creative people around, I think it would be great to hear some other ideas. Blending my own artistic interests into the classroom will really enrich everyone’s experience….so let me know what you got!

Here are some examples of beautiful West African fabrics: (batik, wax method, and amazing design and color!)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 5, 2012 by in Uncategorized and tagged .
Frivolous at Last

"A life of pleasure makes even the strongest mind frivolous at last." -- Edward Bulwer-Lytton

CSmith's Artwork

painting with strokes of life.

David Lebovitz

Paris based chef baking and writing cookbooks

